What’s in my makeup bag…

imageSo, today I’m going to show you all what’s in my makeup bag and give you an honest review as I think it’s something every girl likes to read about. I am always looking at other blogs and picking up tips and new ideas for doing my makeup. I’m not the best makeup artist at all, but I’m starting to learn which products are good for me. Please feel free to leave comments and make suggestions in the comments box below 🙂

These are my everyday makeup essentials. There is a complete range of products here, I don’t tend to stick to one brand. I have a normal/ combination skin type so I like to use Johnsons’ face wipes for combination skin to remove my makeup in the evenings. I have tried other cheaper brands, but they tend to break me out in spots. Plus I love the feel of these wipes on my face! I am also using Estee Lauder’s Day Wear moisturiser at the moment for combination skin, it’s really light and makes my skin feel nice and smooth. If I’m going out, I like to use the Estee Lauder Idealist, even skintone illuminator to make my face glow.

Primer- I’m pretty new to the whole primer thing really. A friend bought me the Smashbox Primer- Photo Finish, it’s oil free and feels very soft and has a smooth texture. I would definitely recommend it.

Foundation- I have always stuck with MAC foundation, but I am new to Studio Sculpt in colour NW30. I has a very glowing texture, but as my skin tends to be very oily I’m not sure if this is the best foundation for me. I previously had the Studio Fix foundation in colour NW30, which I found suited my skin better. It has a full coverage and stays on for the whole day. My friends have been trying to get me to purchase the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation, I have tried a tester of it, but I haven’t managed to find the right colour yet, so I will have to keep trying. I feel like you can never tell what a foundation is really like, until you buy it.

Bronzer- I use MAC Mineralise Skin Finish bronzer. I must say, I can’t imagine that I will every buy another bronzer. It costs around £20 and last me over a year. It’s a great colour too and is great on holiday when your face is already tanned, just to add a little extra.

Eyebrows- I use Ubran Decay’s Brow Box in Honey Pot. It’s a great colour- not too dark, and as lasted me years. I apply the darker colour with an angled brush to get a cleaner stroke. I also use Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara in dark brown to hold any stray eyebrow hairs in place.

Mascara- At the moment I am using a Clinique Lash-Power Mascara that I got as an xmas pressie. It’s quite long lasting but an sometimes be a bit of a nightmare to get off. I usually use Seventeen’s Doll’d Up Mascara, it’s pretty cheap in Boots and doesn’t make my eyelashes too cloggy.

Highlighter- I have recently purchased YSL’s Touche éclat no.1. This is my favourite item in my makeup bag at the moment. I always get really self conscious about having dark circles under my eyes. Touche éclat is a great cover up and is very soft on the skin. You can also use it on other areas of the face to highlight the brow bone or the top of the nose etc. I also use Benefit’s High beam to enhance the glow on the top of my cheek bones.

Contouring- I am using Sleek’s Face contour kit in medium at the moment. I am an amateur contourer and this works well for beginners I would say!

Eyeshadow- I’m using a B.Complete eyeshadow palette from Boots. Remember, when I said I’m not the best makeup artist? Well this palette includes everything I need for a smokey eye. So that’s perfect for me!

Lipstick- Apart from the YSL highlighter, lipstick is my second favourite makeup item. If I was sent to a desert Island and had 5 items to had to choose to take with me, I would choose lipstick as one of them. I am trying to use a range of colours at the moment in a bid to be more adventurous with makeup. I tend to stick to pinky & coral colours such as Angel and Ravishing but, I have recently purchased Russian Red, which I love!

Makeup Brushes- I’m using the Real Techniques makeup brushes from Boots. They are high quality brushes and very affordable. The specific name of each brush is actually written out on the brush, which is very useful for me.

Thanks for reading. I would love to hear from you guys about makeup tips or your favourite products.

xxxx